Fulbright Scholar Award (funded by Kansas State University)

About the Award

The Fulbright Scholar Award (funded by Kansas State University) is awarded to senior academics, government scientists or other key researchers to undertake a collaborative project at Kansas State University in the United States. Successful applicants will work with a tenured or tenure-track colleague at Kansas State on a significant collaborative short-term research program in any academic discipline (for 5 – 6 months).

Kansas State University is seeking:

  • Scholars of established reputation working in an academic or research institution academics (generally at Associate Professor or Full Professor level).
  • Practising professionals who have established reputations in their fields.
  • Senior members of academically-based professions who are currently engaged in the private practice of their profession.
Available awards:
  • 5-6 month program



Specific to this award:
  • Practising professionals with significant experience (10 years +) in their field may apply for this award without a PhD.
General criteria for all Fulbright Awards:
  • Must be an Australian citizen.
  • Must not be a dual citizen of the U.S.
  • Must be residing in Australia at the time of application (exceptions may apply – please see link below).
  • Must not have already commenced this degree or project in the U.S.
  • Must not have held a J1 or J2 visa in the 24 months before program commences.
  • Must hold an undergraduate degree.
  • Scholar applicants only: must hold a PhD.
  • Must have a letter of invitation from proposed host institution (Kansas State University).
  • Scholar applicants only: must have minimum 8-10 years’ experience in field (including PhD program).


Award Benefits

  • Accommodation in a furnished apartment arranged by Kansas State University.
  • Monthly stipend for 5-6 months for an individual based on the current approved MMR.
  • Round-trip, economy class airfare directly to and from the scholar’s home city and the city of the host institution (capped at AUD$4,000).
  • Settling-in allowance.
  • A limited Accident and Sickness Program for Exchanges (ASPE) Health Benefits Plan, designed by the U.S. Department of State and administered by Seven Corners, Inc. Please note this plan is NOT an insurance policy.
  • Orientation and networking opportunities.
  • Support from the Commission prior to and during program.


About the Funder

Kansas State University

For further information on this scholarship and to obtain a Letter of Invitation to Kansas State University, please contact Professor John Leslie, Head of Kansas State Plant Pathology Department. For more information on Kansas State’s research strengths please visit the Kansas State University website.