Fulbright Team

Australian/American Fulbright Board Members

The Board of Directors consists of five citizens of the United States of America who are appointed by the Principal Officer in charge of the Diplomatic Mission of the United States of America in Australia (currently the United States Ambassador to Australia); and five citizens of Australia who are appointed by the Prime Minister or his/her nominee (currently the Minister for Education). The Prime Minister of Australia and the United States Ambassador to Australia serve as joint Honorary Chairpersons of the Commission. The Board of Directors elects from its members a Chair with voting power each year.

Honorary Co-Chairs

The Hon Anthony Albanese MP
Prime Minister of Australia

Her Excellency Caroline Kennedy
United States Ambassador to Australia


Professor Brian P. Schmidt, AC, FAA, FRS
Chair of the Group of Eight Universities


Jeff Anderson
Counselor for Public Affairs
United States Embassy, Canberra

U.S. Representatives

Australian Representatives

Sara James
National Strategy Director, American Chamber of Commerce in Australia
Author and Journalist

Karen Sandercock
First Assistant Secretary, International Division,
Australian Government Department of Education

Christine Elder
Consul General
United States Consulate, Sydney

Professor Carolyn Evans
Vice Chancellor and President, Griffith University

Professor Harlene Hayne, PhD, HonDSc, HonLLD, FRSNZ
Vice Chancellor, Curtin University

Dennis Richardson, AO
Former Secretary,
Department of Defence, Australian Government

David Hallberg
Artistic Director
The Australian Ballet

Elizabeth Le Bas
Assistant Secretary, United States, United Kingdom and Canada Branch, Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade


The Australian-American Fulbright Commission office is based in Canberra and is run by a small and dedicated team. Please contact us if you have any queries about the scholarship program (e.g., eligibility, application advice, timeline for applications, the review process), the Fulbright alumni network, or to find out how you can support the Commission through your donations and bequests.

Varuni Kulasekera PhD

Executive Director

Iroshani Rathnayake

Administrative Assistant

Brendan Greenwood
Finance Manager

Darianna Rubio
Assistant Accountant

Tara Whitfield
Partnerships Manager

Tamara Manson
Programs Manager

Alex Mac1aurin
Communications and Marketing Manager