Fulbright Australian State/Territory Award Opportunities

Represent your State or Territory on your Fulbright Journey

Applications open 4 February – 15 July 2019

Who can apply?

The aim of Fulbright State Scholarships is to encourage and profile research relevant to recipients home state/ territories; and assist in building international research links between the state and U.S. researchers and institutions. These scholarships offer the opportunity for outstanding researchers to broaden their professional, educational and cultural horizons, then return to share the experience with their local community. These scholarships are supported by state or territory governments, companies, universities, private donors and other stakeholders.


To be eligible for Fulbright State/Territory Scholarship an applicant must:

  • Be a permanent resident of that state/ territory at the time of application, with a commitment to return to the state/territory following their Fulbright program
  • Be associated with an institution, organisation or community in that state/territory that will benefit from your proposed Fulbright program
  • Applicants must clearly outline the benefit of their proposed program of study/research to a topic or issue relevant to their State in a separate statement within their application

State/territory scholars are selected on their academic and professional merit, the relevance and importance of their research to the home state/territory and the individual’s connection and commitment to the state/territory.

Postgraduate applicants should download the attachment for additional information.

How Do I Apply?

  • Prior to applying, applicants need to read the Eligibility & Conditions section of the Australian Applicants page.
  • Applications must be completed and submitted via the online portal (see below for instructions and access). Applications emailed or posted to the Commission cannot be considered.
  • Please note applicants for State/ Territory awards will also be considered in the general category for additional awards.
  • To discuss your application aspirations with someone in your area, please consider reaching out to one of our Campus Advisers.
  • Please download the Australian Applicant checklist to include with your application.
  • Please include a Specialist Award Statement with your application- this statement should describe how the proposed project will benefit your State/Territory, and how you will maximise your program’s effect upon return from the U.S.
  • Please view the Australian Scholarships Budget 2019/20 for entitlements. Note this budget is provided as a guide only and is subject to change. Entitlements are per the category e.g. postdoctoral recipients should view the Fulbright Postdoctoral Scholarship.

Postgraduate Applicants: The online portal can be accessed via the Australian student instructions PDF


Postdoctoral, Professional and Scholar Award Applicants: The online portal can be accessed via the Australian scholar instructions PDF

List of State/Territory Awards:

State/Territory Award

Available in Categories:


Postgraduate Postdoctoral Scholar
Australian Capital Territory

Funded by the ACT Government 

Applicants with projects identified as having a strong connection to their state/territory of residence will be considered for this award.

South Australia

Western Australia


New South Wales

Northern Territory 

Funded by the Northern Territory Government, Charles Darwin University and Blackboard (Australia) Pty Ltd


Funded by the Tasmanian Government and the University of Tasmania