2019 Fulbright Gala Presentation Dinner

Guests seated in the Great Hall, Parliament House, Canberra

Close to 500 delegates from higher education, government, research, and industry gathered in Canberra to celebrate the announcement of the largest cohort of Australian-American Fulbright Scholars in 70 years.

90 high-achieving students, academics, researchers, and professionals from Australia and America were awarded Fulbright Scholarships at Parliament House, during a ceremony that featured remarks from Prime Minister Scott Morrison; Minister for Defence Christopher Pyne; and Deputy Assistant Secretary for Academic Programs in the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs Caroline Casagrande, as well as a keynote speech from Astronaut Pamela Melroy.

2018 keynote speaker, Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board Chairman and former U.S. Ambassador to Australia Jeffrey Bleich was also in attendance, flying in to meet the new cohort of grantees and formally introduce Colonel Melroy. 

The 2019 Fulbright Scholars will begin their study and research projects from July.