Fulbright Commission appoints new Executive Director

Thursday 20 November 2008

The Australian-American Fulbright Commission Board today announced the appointment of Dr Joe Hlubucek as the new Executive Director for the Australian-American Fulbright Commission.

Fulbright Commission Chair, Mr Tom Pascarella, said that Dr Hlubucek will bring extensive diplomatic, education and policy experience to the organisation.

"Dr Hlubucek joins Fulbright with a broad background in higher education, science and technology programs and policy development with the Australian Academy of Science, the Australian and NSW Governments and the Reserve Bank of Australia," Mr Pascarella said.

"In particular he has a wealth of experience with bilateral Australian–American relations from his roles as Australian Consul General in San Francisco in 1995-98 and from two postings to the Embassy of Australia in Washington DC as Counsellor (Science and Technology) in 1985-89 and as Counsellor (Education, Science and Training) in 2004-06."

Joe is a graduate of the University of Sydney, with postdoctoral research experience in chemistry at Texas A&M University, London and Oxford Universities, and industry in Stockholm. He also has teaching and research experience at The Australian National University and the University of Western Sydney. He was the General Manager of Biotechnology Australia and elected a Fellow of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute for his research contributions.

Dr Hlubucek is currently a Research Fellow with the Australian Academy of Science. He will take up the position of Executive Director from 8 December 2008.

Mr Pascarella paid tribute to the outgoing Executive Director, Mr Mark Darby.

"On behalf of the Board and the many Fulbright alumni who have enjoyed Mark's leadership over the past nine years I would like to say thank you. We greatly appreciate his contribution, dedication and initiatives, which have resulted in the Australian-American Fulbright Commission becoming one of the more innovative commissions. We wish him the very best for all his future endeavours," Mr Pascarella said.

The prestigious Fulbright Program is the largest educational scholarship of its kind and was created by U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright and the U.S. Government in 1946. Aimed at promoting mutual understanding through educational exchange, it currently operates between the U.S. and 150 other nations.

The Australian Fulbright Program was established in 1949 through the first treaty ever signed between the Australian and U.S. governments. The Prime Minister of Australia and the U.S. Ambassador serve as Honorary Co-Chairs and the Program is funded by both governments and a select group of sponsors. Applications for the 2010 Fulbright Scholarships open 1 June 2009 and close 31 August 2009. Visit www.fulbright.com.au for further information.

Contact

Rosemary Schmedding Communication Manager

Australian-American Fulbright Commission

T: 02 6260 4460

E: commsmanager@fulbright.com.au