2011 Fulbright Australian Scholars Announced



The 2011 Australian Fulbright Scholars. Photo: Ashton Claridge, Flinders University

Issued 1 March 2011

Protection of online identities, contemporary police education and training, regeneration of spinal cord tissues, and creative/comedy writing are some of the exciting areas the 2011 Australian Fulbright Scholars will focus on in the U.S. over the next year.

Twenty-six Australians were awarded their prestigious Fulbright Scholarships at the 2011 Fulbright Presentation Dinner at the Adelaide Festival Centre, on Thursday 10 March 2011. The event was cohosted by Professor Michael Barber, Vice-Chancellor of Flinders University.

Australian-American Fulbright Commission Acting Executive Director, Ms Lyndell Wilson said that the winners come from a rich pool of talent from a wide range of areas.

"One of the unique features of the Fulbright scholarship program is that we have Scholars from so many fields of academic endeavour—law, medical research, science, creative writing, education and engineering," Ms Wilson said.

"The Fulbright Program is a wonderful opportunity which offers huge benefits for the Scholars and for those with whom they come into contact on both sides of the ocean, and we never know where a Fulbright will take a person."

"We often hear from Scholars how much the scholarship has changed their perspectives and led to incredible new opportunities, both in a professional and personal sense."

The Scholars come from across Australia and include postgraduate and postdoctoral researchers, senior academics, and professionals from industry and government. The scholarships, worth up to \$45,000, will enable Fulbright Scholars to study and research in the U.S. for three to twelve months.

The prestigious Fulbright Program is the largest educational scholarship of its kind and was created by U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright and the U.S. Government in 1946. Aimed at promoting mutual understanding through educational exchange, it currently operates between the U.S. and 155 other nations.

The Australian-American Fulbright Program was established in 1949 through a bi-national between the Australian and U.S. governments. The Prime Minister of Australia and the U.S. Ambassador serve as Honorary Co-Chairs. The Program is funded by both governments and a generous group of sponsors, and awards about 50 Fulbright Scholarships every year to Australians and Americans.

Applications for 2012 Fulbright Scholarships open 1 June 2011 and close 31 August 2011.