Board of Directors

Australian-American Fulbright Board Members 2020

The Australian-American Fulbright Commission is governed by a Board of Directors appointed annually by the Minister of Education and Training under the delegated authority of the Australian Prime Minister, and five Americans, appointed by the U.S. Ambassador to Australia. The Prime Minister and the Ambassador serve as joint Honorary Co-Chairs of the Commission, while the Board of Directors elects a Chairperson each year from its members.

Honorary Co-Chairs

The Hon Scott Morrison MP

Prime Minister of Australia

Ambassador Arthur B. Culvahouse Jr
U.S. Ambassador to Australia
U.S. Embassy Canberra

Board of Directors

Peter de Cure (Chair)
Chairman, Accord Property Holdings
Deputy Chair, Royal Flying Doctor Service – Central Operations
Director, Variety the Children’s Charity SA INC.

Gavin Sundwall (Treasurer)
Minister-Counselor for Public Affairs
U.S. Embassy, Canberra

Christian Bennett

Group Head of Government Relations & Industry Affairs
Woolworths Limited, Melbourne

James Fisher

Assistant Secretary, United States Branch
Australian Government, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

David Gainer

Consul General
U.S. Consulate, Perth

Professor Barney Glover AO

Vice-Chancellor and President
Western Sydney University

Sara James

Author and Journalist

Dr Varuni Kulasekera

Consultant Scientist, Hobart

Larry Lopez

Director, Accelerating Commercialisation, Department of Industry, Innovation and Science
Partner, Australian Venture Consultants, Perth

Karen Sandercock

Group Manager, International Group
Australian Government, Department of Education